FitGeekMom

The health is out there

Art School Drop Out…For Now

4 Comments

I designed that typeface/font

Many of you know that I am a current Illustration major at the Art Institute of Portland as well as a full time Security officer. The struggle I’ve been having with Intracranial Hypertension since the broke ass foot weight gain has really taken a toll on my progress toward my degree.
I’ve realized that if I continue to work full time AND continue as a student that it will only make my weight loss quest more difficult and they are both hindering each other.
I just had major surgery on my eye because I haven’t been able to lose weight and send my IH into remission. I don’t want that to be for nothing. Because of it I’ve been having trouble keeping up during my current term, I’m afraid I might even fail both of the classes I’m taking. I also find it important to point out that my surgery was only a band-aid in a sense. It bought me some time to lose this weight or I could still go blind.
I’ve talked to my husband and we’ve agreed that for now it will be best if I put my education on hold for the next year so that I can focus on my health.
Art is my passion and it is killing me to have to do this and even writing this post I am crying. I’ve learned so much in my time at the Art Institute. Of course this will not stop me from creating artwork on my own and studying independently. But I might not be illustrating your kid’s next book or animating anything until my mid thirties.
Today is a sad day for sure.

Author: ChristaDoodles

Mom|Wife|Illustrator|Sculptor|Fangirl. I love when fandoms collide, currently fighting #IIH

4 thoughts on “Art School Drop Out…For Now

  1. Today is the first of many that means you are outing your wants and needs for your future first. Just because you need to recenter does not mean that you are refocusing or going in a different direction. Your future depends on the best of you, and sometimes that means you need to idle the car on the side of the road to retie your bagage, surf board, eisle, Take a walk, and buckle your kids. You still have a goal, and it's waiting for you paciently. Love, whoa

  2. …had a moment now I need to correct it.Puting your wants and needs for your future first.

  3. Thank you person. That is an awesome way to frame it and makes so much sense!

  4. I'm sad to hear that you're having to do this, but happy that you're keeping your dream alive and well on your way to solving your vision problems. I love your stuff, and I'd really enjoy working on a film or game project with you sometime!

What do you think?